Our Story

Young Scientists Kenya (YSK) is a unique initiative that gives young people from across Kenya an opportunity to demonstrate innovation and showcase their scientific talents through a National Science and Technology competition.

YSK is based on the premise that a wealth of talent and potential for innovation exists among Kenyan youth and that by providing a platform for them to compete and showcase their own practical solutions to the problems faced within their communities, they can be encouraged to pursue careers in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM).

Young Scientists Kenya is an initiative of both the Ministry of Education and the Government of Ireland through its Embassy in Kenya, and with support from BLAZE by Safaricom and other partners.

Our mission is to inspire and empower the next generation of young scientists, innovators and entrepreneurs to transform their local and global communities through Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM).

Inspire students to take STEM and pursue STEM pathways through outreach, linkages and extension programmes.

Develop STEM learning ecosystems and communities of practice through partnerships, linkages, and extensions with the Government, Academia, non-state actors, and others.

Organize a national STEM platform that enables students to showcase their scientific research, technologies and innovations and create linkages for further research and commercialization.

Our History

History begins in 2017 with the foundation


MOU signed with the Ministry of Education and the Embassy of Ireland.


Pilot program to 10 counties.
President Kenyatta agrees to become YSK Patron.

National rollout to all 47 counties.
Presidential directive of government agencies' free support of all Intellectual Property.


Digital pivot; first ever virtual outreaches and exhibition takes place.
Launch of the "Leave No Learner Behind" campaign to ensure every student benefits from YSK's digital transformation.

Our Governance

Board Members


Ben Roberts

Chair of the YSK Board

Chair of the Programs Committee

Group CTIO at Liquid Intelligent Technologies

Ravi Ganti

Ravi Ganti

Chair of the Resource Mobilisation Committee

Chief Technology Officer at Quantum

Sheila Cadogan

Sheila Cadogan

Chair of the IP & Actualisation Committee

Partner at Cadogan & Mugo LLP T/A Adroit Law

Anthony Mwithiga

Anthony Mwithiga

Chair of the YSK AFRM Committee

Group Managing Director at Old Mutual Investment Group

Jacinta Akatsa

Jacinta Akatsa

Director at CEMASTEA

Juddy Gichuki

Juddy Gichuki

Senior Manager, Strategy Research at Safaricom PLC

Hassan Duale

Hassan Duale

Director, Field Services and Co-Curricular Activities at the Ministry of Education

Dr Julius Butime

Dr Julius Butime

Dean, School of Computing and Engineering Sciences at Strathmore University


Carina Dero

Carina Too

Head of Finance and Operations

Vanessa L.Inziani

Vanessa L Inziani

Head of Programs

Meshack Mbuyi

Meshack Mbuyi

Head of Partnerships

Batuli Ali

Batuli Ali Bakari

Programs Officer